top of page

SPACE CHANNEL 5 - 20th anniversary tribute Part 1


5/27/2020


NOTE--- I've hidden all the content of this , just because there's a SC5 art contest until the end of August, and any work for it, can't be revealed before that ----- ​I've started this project around 3 years ago, thinking of the celebration the 20th Anniversary of Space Channel 5 . SC5 is a game from SEGA and it was one of the last game that I've really played before stopping gaming for a few years, also I really enjoy it's art style. Link to Wikipedia about SC5 I wanted to explore some 3D techniques that I didn't had enough experience with , by half way it turned into a social experiment , where I started to use only Instagram as my only platform of communication and look development . During the development, I was supported and got constructive critique from the community that didn't care about the tech side of the work, they were into the fandom of the franchise and all they wanted was to get something out of me that aligned with the core values of the original video game. Besides using traditional CG tools ,I was doing the editing, the audio and video edits, all inside a phone. Only at the end, to create full resolution results, Affinity photo and Nuke where used . This website exists for me to share the love and give back to the community some of the development I did. Start: October 2017 End: still working on it Software used and techniques explored : Maya - XGEN core, Xgen Interactive, Character Animation, Human IK, rigging Arnold: Stand Ins, Arnold Procedurals , GPU render Houdini : Vellum Motionbuilder : repurposing old mocap that I had on bvh and learning out to retarget in MB. Mari : for https://texturing.xyz/ workflows Substance Painter :to learn Painter pipeline ​Mixamo​ animations: learn how to use them in loop and crowds IKmax: rigging plugin for maya Zbrush: used for all the detail modelling, this time created my own set of brushes and alphas Nuke - more compositing Miku Miku Dance - extracting motion from available choreographies Gimp - just used to convert SVG files Affinity Photo - Was £25 during the lockdown - 1st time using it, and learning my way around it Apple Store Apps: 3d Camera Control - 3d motion track camera with AR kit Face Fun - Renaissance paint effect Vita - Video editor Face App - Adds smiles , make up to faces, useful to block where blend shapes should be InShot - Video Editor B612 - Make up editor Line Camera- Sticker and frame for all my Instagram needs Focos - AI focos chooser Glitch Studio- adds video glitch and artefacts LD -Lens distortions , adds lighting bleed,leak, flares to your images Retouch - AI clean up of areas in your image Bellow a collection of the development of it.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • X
  • alt.text.label.LinkedIn
  • Artstation Portfolio
  • alt.text.label.Instagram
  • alt.text.label.Instagram

©2024 by Square-Zero-One

bottom of page