top of page

Ibl creation with an APS-C - HDR


For a long time I’ve been capturing IBLs and one of the things I’ve struggled with was not having the budget to buy a Full-frame sensor camera. The main reason I would like that was to use a 8mm fisheye lens and capture full domes with it. For many years I’ve used in my personal projects just a reflected sphere. Where I would shoot the a chrome sphere and go around it and shoot it from multiple angles to do a full 360.



Time passed and I’ve recently bought this 4mm , with a 225° angle of view, this enable a crop sensor camera like my own to capture a full circle .


7Artisans 4mm F2.8






So I’m able to to the following workflow


Set the camera to Raw and use auto bracketing to capture multiple exposures per angle.

Rotate the camera on a tripod in increments of 90° and capture 4 angles .


Process the result in PtGui



There’s a lot of work later to make it a proper Ibl, like grading, clean up, light extraction , but being able to do it with a real photo instead of a reflection it's so much better!
















12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • X
  • alt.text.label.LinkedIn
  • Artstation Portfolio
  • alt.text.label.Instagram
  • alt.text.label.Instagram

©2024 by Square-Zero-One

bottom of page